Indigenous Learning Centre Bursary

Indigenous Learning Centre Bursary Program

ILC is pleased to launch a new bursary with the support of Worth Allaye Chan – There are three $1,000 bursaries to be awarded.  Bursaries are open to AFOA members and non-members.

Bursaries are available to First Nation, Inuit and Métis students attending university or college as a full-time student in an academic program such as Business Administration, Business Management, Accounting, Commerce and/or other finance related programs.

Past Recipients

Recipients of the Bursary Program to date are:


  1. Kandice Charlie, Agassiz, BC, Simon Fraser University, Beedie School of Business
  2. Corey Kataquapit, North Bay, ON, Canadore College
  3. Rochelle Pelly, Winnipeg, MB, Red River College
  1. Denzel Sutherland Wilson, Kispiox, BC, McGill University
  2. Nathalie McPherson, St. Paul, AB, University of Saskatchewan, Edwards School of Business
  3. Erin Solway, Siksika Nation, AB, SAIT Polytechnic
  4. Marsha Janvier, Saskatoon, SK, University of Saskatchewan, Edwards School of Business
  1. Nicole Gee, Winnipeg MB, Yellowquill College
  2. Amanda Mae Sagutch, Winnipeg, MB, Yellowquill College
  3. Brenton Thorvaldson, Selkirk, MB, University of Manitoba
  4. Kaitlyn Adams Lewis, Thunder Bay ON, Ryerson University


  1. Jennifer Ambers, Namgis First Nation, BC, Camosun College
  2. Richelle Bowe, Anaham Band, BC, Okanagan College
  3. Josée Lépine, Manitoba Métis Federation, MB, University of Manitoba
  4. Tyler Thorne, Nunatukavut, NL, Dalhousie University
  1. Gregory John, Calgary AB, University of Calgary
  2. Michaela Johnson, Fort Smith NT, University of Lethbridge
  3. Dawn Paul, Victoria BC, University of Victoria
  4. Clayton Schroeder, Sto:lo Nation BC, Kwantlen Polytechnic University

How to Apply

ILC Bursary Applications are NOW CLOSED for full-time Post-Secondary Students in a Business Management, Commerce, Accounting or Finance related program.

ILC Online Course Scholarship Applications are NOW CLOSED to anyone wishing to enroll into an AFOA Canada Online Course for Fall 2016 or Winter of 2017