2019-2020 Indigenous Learning Centre Professional Development Scholarship

The Professional Development Scholarships are available to anyone who wishes to take AFOA Canada’s online courses for the Certified Aboriginal Financial Management (CAFM) Program, Certified Aboriginal Professional Administrator (CAPA) Program or Professional Development courses or one CAPA In-Person Session. This Scholarship is intended to offset full registration costs for AFOA Canada courses and help qualified candidates who do not have the financial resources required to;
  • Pursue the CAFM educational program leading to the CAFM designation;
  • Pursue the CAPA educational program leading to the CAPA designation;
  • Pursue the Certified Indigenous Leaders Program (CIL) leading to a CIL designation; or
  • Enroll in AFOA Canada's CAFM, CAPA or Professional Development courses
Funds have been allocated to the Scholarship Program and the Program has been approved by the Board of Directors.

The 2019/2020 Professional Development Scholarship Program has received funding support from the NIB Trust Fund to address the impacts of the Indian Residential School System and is consistent with the NIB Trust Funds charitable objects.

What kind of Scholarships are currently available?

  • ONLINE COURSES – A number of scholarships (one scholarship equated one course) are being awarded and available to recipients who wish to take one Winter online course for the Certified Aboriginal Financial Management (CAFM) Program, or the Certified Aboriginal Professional Administrator (CAPA) Program– scholarship value at $595 each

Scholarship awards allocated must be used for the program of study and the academic year specified on the application form

Who Can Apply: 

  • Applicants must be First Nations or Métis
  • Employed in a financial and/or management position and/or attending school as a full-time student. 
  • Reside or work in an Indigenous community/organization.
  • Preference will be given to applicants to demonstrate financial need.

Scholarship Recipients

Recipients of the Indigenous Learning  Centre Professional Development Scholarship Program are: 

2018-2019   Professional Development Scholarships  
  Online Course Scholarships
Glenda Henderson, Coldwater Indian Band, BC 
Tara Campbell, Sts,ailes First Nation, BC 
Jessica Saunders, Fort McMurray, AB 
Amy Crate, Fisher River First Nation 
Miranda Bear, Rocky Mountain House, AB 
Jessie Aljam, Coldwater Indian Band, BC 
Glen Jones, Wasaga Beach, ON
Justin Jimmy, , Calgary, AB
Wilna Masuskapoe, Saskatoon, SK
Stephanie Turner, Prince Albert, SK
Sheila Williams, Courtney, BC

Certified Indigenous Leaders (CIL) In-Person Sessions
Paul Andrews, Agassiz, BC
Ambrose Charles, Air Ronge, SK
Chrystal Desilets, Ottawa, ON
Deanna McKay, Prince Albert, SK
Marsland Seapieces, St. Catherine, ON
Wayne Bird, La Ronge, SK
Frankie Dick, Whapmagoostui, QC
Certified Aboriginal Professional Administrator (CAPA) In-Person Sessions
Juanita Neault, Peguis First Nation, MB
Melissa McDonald, Membertou First Nation, NS
Sharon Karhunen, Long Lake #58 First Nation, ON
Carmella Jerry, Rocky Mountain House, AB
Jennifer Mathews, Sioux Lookout, ON
Valerie Kakekaspan, Sioux Lookout, ON
Dominia Francois, Little Shuswamp Lake Indian Band, Chace, BC
Theresa Jacko, Akwesasne Indian Reserve, Akwesasne, ON
Yolanda Pennell, Acadia First Nation, Eastern Passage, NS
Andra Bernard, Wagmatcook First Nation, NS
Angela Colgan, Acadia First Nation, NS
Mallery Denny, Union of Nova Scotia Indians, NS
Ashley Earle, Acadia First Nation, NS
Annie Johnson, Eskasoni First Nation, NS
Joan Sack, Union of Nova Scotia Indians, NS
Kirstin Ward, Eskasoni First Nation, NS
Mellissa Gagnon, Thunder Bay, ON
Shirley Kelly, Keewatin, ON
Dorothy Trout, Hudson, ON
Cohort 2
 CAPA In-Person Session  On-line Course Scholarship
  Loretta Stager
Douglas First Nation
British Columbia

Cara Gladue
Bigstone Cree First Nation

    Wanda Laboucan
Akisqnuk First Nation
British Columbia
    Elaine Moosimin
Battleford Agency Tribal Chiefs Inc.
 Cohort 1
CAPA In-Person Session  
  Jamie Yuzicappi
Whitecap Dakota First Nation


On-line Course Scholarship

On-line Course Scholarship


Roberta Samson
Kanaka Bar Indian Band
British Columbia

Julian Jordan
Lac La Croix First Nations




Recipients of the Norman Taylor Aboriginal Financial Management Scholarship Program 2007-2016:


On-line Course Category

National Conference Category
Montreal, QC


Rebecca Murdoch
Trout Lake
Northwest Territories

Lisa Scott
Cowichan Bay
British Columbia


Channing Ward
Enoch Cree Nation

Ashley Waring
Sarnia, Ontario





On-line Course Category

National Conference Category
Winnipeg, MB


Teresa Peters
Seabird Island Band
British Columbia

Sherri Running Rabbit
Siksika Nation


Russell Evans
Matachewan First Nations

Jolene Ward
Enoch Cree Nation





On-line Course Category

National Conference Category
Halifax, NS


Michelle Campeau
Hobbema, Alberta

Penny Roy-Corbiere
M’Chigeeng First Nation


Tanya Whitehead
Meath Park

Darlene Landon





On-line Course Category

National Conference Category
Toronto, ON


Leanne Flett Kruger
Okanagan Nation
Penticton Indian Reserve
British Columbia

Leah Gaze
Adams Lake Indian Band
British Columbia


Randy Natomagan
Prince Albert

Jolene Recollet





On-line Course Category

National Conference Category
Saskatoon, SK

Michelle Bushie
Hollow Water First Nation

Carmella Jerry
O'Chiese First Nation

Crystal Denny
Nova Scotia

Leanne Chudy
St. Mary's Indian Band
British Columbia



On-line Course Category

National Conference Category
Vancouver, BC

Simone Craig

Rhonda Kirkness
Fisher River Cree Nation

Marsha Hall
Golden Lake First Nation

Annette Marshall
Chippewas of the Thames First Nation



On-line Course Category

National Conference Category
Ottawa, ON

Carmella Jerry
O’Chiese First Nation

Hazel Catherine Baxter
Elsipogtog First Nation
New Brunswick

Stephanie Simeon
Chiniki First Nation

Brenda Wasacase
Kahkewistahaw First Nation



On-line Course Category

National Conference Category
Calgary, AB

Jennifer Martin
Membertou First Nation
Nova Scotia

Margaret White
British Columbia

Natasha Goulais
Aamjiwnaang First Nation



On-line Course Category

National Conference Category – Montreal, QC

Richelle Bowe
Williams Lake
British Columbia

Lisa DeWit
British Columbia

Karen McCarthy

Annie Snowshoe
Tetlit Gwich'in First Nation
Northwest Territories


Professional Development Scholarship PROGRAM 


Review the ILC Bursary & Scholarship Regulations

 You may either fax your applications to (613) 722-3467 or email it to communications@afoa.ca . You may also courier it or submit it in person at the address below:
Indigenous Learning Centre
c/o AFOA Canada
301-1066 Somerset Street West
Ottawa, ON K1Y 4T3

For more information please email communications@afoa.ca or call Toll Free, (866) 722-2362.


 DOWNLOAD the application