14th Annual MNP-AFOA Canada Excellence in Aboriginal Leadership Awards - Now Closed

MNP and AFOA Canada are proud to present the Excellence in Aboriginal Leadership Awards

Recognizing effort and rewarding excellence

MNP LLP & AFOA Canada are dedicated to helping Aboriginal leaders reach the highest standard of excellence in finance and management. This is one example of that commitment.

The Excellence in Aboriginal Leadership Award was created in 2004. It was designed to recognize and celebrate excellence and achievement in Aboriginal finance and management. Recipients have superior vision for excellence and innovation in finance and management, and demonstrated advanced expertise, outstanding professionalism and leadership. Their contributions have led to the betterment of Canadian Aboriginal communities, institutions and people.

There are two categories for nominations for the MNP-AFOA Canada Excellence in Aboriginal Leadership Award:

  1. The National category recognizes individuals who have contributed to the Aboriginal financial and/or management profession on a national or institutional level.

  2. The Regional category recognizes individuals who have contributed to the Aboriginal financial management profession on a regional or community level.

Awards are presented at a special ceremony at the AFOA Canada's National Annual Conference.

Award recipients receive complimentary conference registration and financial assistance for travel to/from the Conference.

We invite you to think about the people around you and to nominate someone who has demonstrated a special passion and drive in the interests of Aboriginal financial management. Who has strengthened and has built upon the successes we have achieved? Who exemplifies this mission through their day-to-day efforts?

Award Criteria

Recipients of the MNP-AFOA Canada Excellence in Aboriginal Leadership Award continuously demonstrate a sincere and long-term commitment to excellence in Aboriginal finance and management in Canada.

Nominees must meet the following criteria:
  • Have had senior finance and management responsibilities in an Aboriginal community or organization.
  • Have demonstrated leadership skills that have motivated and inspired others.
  • Have made a significant contribution to the field of Aboriginal finance and management.
  • Have made a measurable impact on the management, performance and/or governance of Aboriginal community(ies)/organization(s).
  • Have raised the standards of Aboriginal finance and management practices.
All nominations must be submitted to AFOA Canada, based on the criteria above. Self-nominations will not be considered. AFOA Canada reserves the right to use the Award recipients name in communication material regarding the Award.

Award recipients are selected by an Awards Selection Committee comprised of previous Award winners and senior Aboriginal financial executives from across the country.

Click Here to view AFOA Canada Awards and Scholarship General Regulations

Past Excellence in Aboriginal Leadership Award Recipients

Previous Award Winners

Recipients of the AFOA Excellence in Aboriginal Leadership Awards to date are:

Year  National Category
Regional Category
2017 Chief Frieda Martselos
Salt River First Nation #195, NWT
Dawn Madahbee Leach
General Manager, Waubetek Business Corporation, Birch Island, ON
 2016 Ron Jamieson,
First Canadian Investment Ltd. Oshwekan, ON
Chief Janice Henderson, CAFM,
 Mitaanjigamiing First Nation, ON
2015 Marion Crowe, CAFM   
Executive Director,
First Nations Health Managers Association
Tamara (Tammy) Saulis, CAFM
Chief Financial Officer
Nipissing First Nation
 2014 Ernie Daniels, CAFM
President and CEO
Westbank, First Nations
First Nations Finance Authority
Mike McIntyre, CAFM
Chief Financial Officer
Membertou First Nation
Membertou, NS
Chief Robert Louie
Westbank First Nation 
Lands Advisory Board, BC
Allan Munroe
VP Finance & Administration
Paskwayak Business Development Corporation Ltd. Opaskwayak, MB
2012 Kelly J. Lendsay, CAFM
President & CEO
Aboriginal Human Resource Council, SK
Marion Brass-Yellowfly, CAFM
Chief Financial Officer
Siksika Nation, AB
2011 Terry Goodtrack
Chief Operating Officer
Aboriginal Healing Foundation, ON
Alana Dixon
Canim Lake Band
2010 Deanna Hamilton
First Nations Finance Authority, BC
Lynn Anne Knockwood
Director of Common Services
Confederacy of Mainland Mi'kmaq, NS
2009 Clarence Thomas (Manny) Jules
Chief Commissioner
First Nations Tax Commission
Tammy Drew
General Manager
Miawpukek First Nation, NL
2008 Chief Thomas M. Bressette
Kettle & Stony Point Council
Dan Christmas
Senior Advisor
Membertou First Nation, NS
2007 Chief Clarence Louie
Chief Executive Officer
Osoyoos Indian Band Development Corporate, BC
Karen Bruno
Finance Administrator
Long Plain First Nation, MB
2006 Edmond Wright
Nisga'a Lisims Government, BC
Yvonne Monkman-Black
Finance Manager
Ma Mawi Wi Chi Itata Centre Inc.
2005 Harold Calla, CAFM
First Nations Financial Management Board, BC
Richard Morano, CAFM
Chief Financial Officer
Mnjikaning First Nation, ON
2004 Keith Martell, CAFM
First Nations Bank of Canada, SK
Sharon Stevenson, CAFM
Finance Manager
Peguis School Board, MB